July 14, 2016

Blog Tour Interview: The Shadow Hour by Melissa Grey



Title: The Shadow Hour (The Girl at Midnight #2)
Author: Melissa Grey
Release Date: July 12th, 2016
Publisher: Random House
Target Audience: Young Adult
Page Count: 432
Source: ARC
Amazon | B&N | Indiebound | iBooks | The Book Depository
Everything in Echo's life changed in a blinding flash when she learned the startling truth: she is the firebird, the creature of light that is said to bring peace.

The firebird has come into the world, but it has not come alone. Every action has an equal and opposite reaction, and Echo can feel a great and terrible darkness rising in the distance. Cosmic forces threaten to tear the world apart.

Echo has already lost her home, her family, and her boyfriend. Now, as the firebird, her path is filled with even greater dangers than the ones she's already overcome.

She knows the Dragon Prince will not fall without a fight.

Echo must decide: can she wield the power of her true nature--or will it prove too strong for her, and burn what's left of her world to the ground?

Welcome to the shadow hour.

(Summary Source: Goodreads)

May 11, 2016

Character, Driven by David Lubar - Review, Interview & Giveaway

Character, DrivenTitle: Character, Driven
Author: David Lubar
Release Date: March 1, 2016
Publisher: Tor
Target Audience: Young Adult
Page Count: 304
Source: Publisher for Review. Opinions are unbiased and totally my own.

Barnes & Noble | Amazon | Indiebound | Book Depository 

“Call me Cliff. By an accident of birth, I am well named for this story. Think about it. Cliff. Precipice. Edge. There you have it. I’m Cliff. Cliff Sparks.”

With only one year left of high school, seventeen-year-old Cliff Sparks is desperate to “come of age”―and find a girlfriend. But he’s never had much luck with girls. So when he falls for Jillian, a new classmate, at first sight, all he can do is worship her from afar. At the same time, Cliff has to figure out what to do with the rest of his life, since he’s pretty sure his unemployed father plans to kick him out of the house the minute he turns eighteen.

Time is running out for Cliff. He’s at the edge, on the verge, dangling―and holding on for dear life. (Summary from Goodreads)


March 22, 2016

Top Ten Tuesday: Books That Need More Hype (42)

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the fly honeys over at The Broke and The Bookish

Okay, so the actual topic for this week is "Ten Books I Really Love But Feel Like I Haven't Talked About Enough/In A While" - but we are kinda sorta INTENSE book pushers around the Bookish Broads parts, so if we love it, we talk about it. A lot. It's just how we do. 

So we won't necessarily be pushing our all time favorites on you yet again, but instead pushing books we've quietly obsessed over or just hit us in the right way at the right time and holds that special place in our hearts and we want to cuddle it forever!


March 20, 2016

Review: When We Collided by Emery Lord

Title: When We Collided
Author: Emery Lord
Release Date: April 5, 2016
Publisher: Bloomsbury
Target Audience: Young Adult
Page Count: 352 pages
Source: ARC
Barnes & Noble | Amazon | Indiebound | Book Depository
Seventeen year-old Jonah Daniels has lived in Verona Cove, California, his whole life, and only one thing has ever changed: his father used to be alive, and now he is not. With a mother lost in a deep bout of depression, Jonah and his five siblings struggle to keep up their home and the restaurant their dad left behind. But at the start of summer, a second change rolls in: Vivi Alexander, the new girl in town.

Vivi is in love with life. Charming and unfiltered, she refuses to be held down by the medicine she's told should make her feel better. After meeting Jonah, she slides into the Daniels' household seamlessly, winning over each sibling with her imagination and gameness. But it's not long before Vivi's zest for life begins to falter. Soon her adventurousness becomes all-out danger-seeking.

Through each high and low, Vivi and Jonah's love is put to the test . . . but what happens when love simply isn't enough?

(Summary Source: Goodreads)

March 18, 2016

Friday Favourites: Marine's Favourite Spring Re-Reads

Friday Favorites is a Bookish Broads feature in which we share a list of our favorite things under the umbrella of that week's topic.

Spring is here! It might be temporary and April showers may eventually be headed our way but all of this sunshine has me in a lovely mood (either that or the fact that I can finally ditch boots in favour of ballet flats)!


I realized that come this time of year, I always get an urge to re-read a specific set of books. There is something about the spring, the blooms, and the sunlight finally extending past 5PM that makes me crave a few books I really love, so I thought I would share them with you. Here is a list of my favourite books to read come springtime:

February 26, 2016

Friday Favorites: Gaby's Favorite New TV Shows

Friday Favorites is a Bookish Broads feature in which we share a list of our favorite things under the umbrella of that week's topic.

HI GUYS.


Today I'm switching gears a bit -- from BOOKS to TELEVISION. I know, we're all a bunch of book nerds and we love to read but, I have to admit something... I watch a LOT of TV. As in, I probably spend more time watching TV than I do reading. Which is really an accomplishment because I don't even own a TV.


And if you're wondering how I, a TV-less human, have that many shows to watch, here, I'll tell you: 

February 25, 2016

Review: Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys


Title: Salt to the Sea
Author: Ruta Sepetys
Release Date: February 2, 2016
Publisher: Penguin
Target Audience: Young Adult
Page Count: 400
Source: Purchased
Barnes & Noble | Amazon | Indiebound | Book Depository
World War II is drawing to a close in East Prussia and thousands of refugees are on a desperate trek toward freedom, many with something to hide. Among them are Joana, Emilia, and Florian, whose paths converge en route to the ship that promises salvation, the Wilhelm Gustloff. Forced by circumstance to unite, the three find their strength, courage, and trust in each other tested with each step closer to safety.

Just when it seems freedom is within their grasp, tragedy strikes. Not country, nor culture, nor status matter as all ten thousand people aboard must fight for the same thing: survival.

Told in alternating points of view and perfect for fans of Anthony Doerr's Pulitzer Prize-winning All the Light We Cannot See, Erik Larson's Dead Wake, and Elizabeth Wein's Printz Honor Book Code Name Verity, this masterful work of historical fiction is inspired by the real-life tragedy that was the sinking of the Wilhelm Gustloff—the greatest maritime disaster in history. As she did in Between Shades of Gray, Ruta Sepetys unearths a shockingly little-known casualty of a gruesome war, and proves that humanity can prevail, even in the darkest of hours.

(Summary Source: Goodreads)